Honesty could be the Best Policy

nbc-fires-donald-trump-after-he-calls-mexicans-rapists-and-drug-runners As you all know by the overzealous social media and television coverage, we are amidst a presidential election year. While many individuals are concerned for the nation’s future in the hands of some of candidates, there is one Republican who has garnered more attention than most. I’m certainly not promising him my vote, but Donald Trump, an entrepreneur with little political experience, could quite possibly be the best candidate for the presidency. Now before you all begin to question my morals and sanity, I’d like to offer my reasoning behind this conclusion.

Firstly, Mr. Trump is surely an opinionated gentleman who isn’t afraid to voice his stances on very controversial issues, such as immigration. While we, as the United States of America, have been made countless empty promises president after president, Donald Trump is not fabricating stories of what the voters want to hear. While some of his opinions on women and certain cultures have been horribly discriminatory, I have to at least admire him for choosing to be honest. In a nation full of corrupt politicians who simply lie, cheat and slyly finagle their way into office, Mr. Trump is outwardly honest, yet slightly obnoxious at times, concerning his political agenda.

Secondly, Donald Trump is a wild card. I think we can all agree this man is not a traditional politician by the policy reforms he has suggested, and the extremely racy campaign he has been running. I’m going to be completely open and relay that I’m concerned for the nations immigrants if Donald Trump becomes elected, as I’m sure most voters are. While this is a very large negative for his campaign, imagine what other nations not so friendly with the United States are thinking about Mr. Trump. If citizens in his own nation are a little frightened of his erratic and unpredictable nature, then imagine the fear terrorist organizations targeting the United States, such as ISIS, are feeling. While he has sexist and racist views of society, he is most definitely capable of creating large scale fear among terrorists with his completely unpredictable and often times excessive solutions to security problems.

donald-trump-is-on-an-absolute-roll-after-wild-week-filled-with-twitter-fights-and-heated-debates-about-rape

Third, since political elections began, candidates have relied on donors to fund their campaigns. So why would a cooperation, or highly influential citizen, want to funnel their funds into getting their favorite candidate elected? Simple: personal interest. When given funds for a campaign, an official usually agrees to support certain objectives and destroy others. Well, that exchange of money for “support” is hardly ever in the best interest of the common citizen. Donald Trump is not relying on donors to fund his campaign; therefore he is only promoting the interests that truly appeal to him. While I agree that some of his views and stances are outrageously unfair, once again at least he is being honest regarding his intentions.

I’d like to address one last point that I feel is often brought up in political debates between voters, without their understanding of the stories entirety. Yes, I am fully aware that Mr. trump has filed for bankruptcy many times; but this leads me to believe he is extremely intelligent. He has said time and time again on the podium that he will take full advantage of the American system to assist his businesses in thriving. So, yes, he will file bankruptcy when a company is going under, it’s obviously not illegal. Then after preparing a better business plan, he buys the company back from the creditors for pennies on the dollar, pulls himself up by the bootstraps and reinvents a more successful business. Sounds rather smart to me, and of course every thing about this process is legal. If individuals aren’t fond of the nature of Mr. Trump’s business practices, then it’s time for a reform in the legality of the American system. Donald trump is only utilizing its current full potential to maximize his profits, which there is absolutely nothing wrong with. So while yes, he has filed for bankruptcy, Mr. Trump is still one of the greatest entrepreneurs in my book. Donald Trump has certainly not won me over for a vote just yet, but I am sick of hearing him completely trashed, because he does have some redeemable qualities for a presidential candidate.

_87170064_gettyimages-488226322

 

About malloysells

POS 442 Spring 2016
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Honesty could be the Best Policy

  1. nicmccaleb says:

    I really like your post. I agree with you that honesty is what makes Trump an admirable candidate. He has been the only candidate that can speak his own mind without needing to think about the opinions and thoughts of financial backers. While I do not agree on many of Trumps ideas, I think his experience as an American businessman will prove to aid him in office. I believe that his foreign affairs policy will be quite aggressive and will prove to be successful. I agree that his thoughts on immigration are very intense and will be strongly opposed by many of the citizens of this country.

  2. iramsey918 says:

    I really enjoyed your post. While I too am still unsure whether Mr. Trump has my vote or not I am also sick of the media and many others specifically targeting him on a daily basis. While I do not agree with Trump on many of his positions and think there are many areas he could use some refinement I admit he has some intriguing qualities too. As you mentioned the man is a wild card. He doesn’t seem to care what others think of him and constantly speaks his mind; while some call him down for this, I find it somewhat refreshing in a day where most politicians are not straight forward at all. Your other point that I liked is that while Trump has filed bankruptcy a few times, he is still one of the most successful businessmen in the world. Is it not the American dream to do just that; to try, fail and rise again to success? Like I said while there are many things I do not agree with Mr. Trump on, there is a part of me that is curious to see what he could do with a country in dire need of financial ingenuity. Thank you for posting.

  3. sbain2016 says:

    I think this blog is well written and entertaining (especially the photos of Trump’s hair). However, I must disagree with a couple of points made in the piece. While it could be said that Donald Trump is speaking the truth, I tend to think he is really just speaking populist rhetoric, but we will likely never know. Do the majority of us really know our politicians, or do we just know what we see on the media? Like the rest of the candidates, Trump never veesr to far from his scripted character and catch phrases. In defense of Trump, I must say, they all do it. I believe most people are confusing anti establishment rhetoric with honesty. Is someone honest just because they are brave enough to go against the norm? So I will just leave the subject of Trump’s honesty at that. Even though many people agree with Trump’s ideas, I think it is pretty naive to think that he is not making empty promises and again (they all do it). What President has gotten into office and not faced the gridlock of partisanship, and constitutional limitations. Will Donald Trump as president win the approval of congress to build a 2000 mile wall on the border? This border barrier idea is not a new concept, George Bush signed the Border Fence Act in 2006 (see http://www.npr.org/templates/story/story.php?storyId=6388548 for details), and we didn’t have the funding, it was a debacle. The following link, http://www.cnn.com/videos/us/2016/02/16/trump-border-wall-explainer-animation-orig-nws.cnn/video/playlists/donald-trump/, gives readers an idea about what it would take to build the border wall. The business mogul’s campaign is built on this idea of a wall. and it is really quite strange why people think a wall is going to make America Great? Is what we are seeing from trump really honesty?

  4. jtoombs51 says:

    While I understand the notion that Mr. Trump is seen as an “honest” candidate, I simply cannot agree with it. He consistently spews misconstrued ideas regarding the world in order to feed into the mania surrounding his campaign right now. He walks back on comments he made less than five years ago, and uses the disguise of “it was good for business to have politicians in his pocket.” This is not something to be praised, and should result in him being seen as a political insider. If he has made comments in the past in order to gain more power, how can the American people trust what he is saying now as anything but an attempt to gain a position with even greater power.

    What he has done well is realizing how to mobilize the individuals who will respond best to his divisive rhetoric. He plays upon the greatest fears of the American people, and relates the lost “greatness” of the United States to the period of US history characterized by widespread discrimination.

    With all of this being said, I do appreciate that you have actually created a sensible argument regarding his candidacy.

  5. jfavila says:

    Very well written post. However, I am not convinced he is the best candidate. I feel he purposely seeks to offend in order to gain attention. I feel media is mostly the reason why he is seeing success as a candidate. His lack of political background does make me worry about how he will run the country. Perhaps his aggressive immigration reforms would be successful in reducing the amount of undocumented immigrants but since I come from a family who immigrated to the country legally I still really fear being discriminated. To me the way he doesn’t care about others opinions does not seem like an admirable trait for a president. Although I am curious as to how he would handle the current economy as an entrepreneur I cant see myself voting for him.

  6. christiesm says:

    Very interesting post and point of view. I don’t believe Trump is the best candidate for our country, but I think the media do more jokes about his respect and highlight the bad things he says compared to other candidates. As you said, Trump says what he believes and acts like he doesn’t care what other people think about him, turning him to be “honest” instead of say what people think is right to say, but his lack of political knowledge and his aggressive forms to prevent terrorism in relation to immigration, it may cause another problems, such as racism, indifference and inequality.

  7. pooh0bear8 says:

    Citizens of the United States of America will always disagree on subject, but we a civil about it, and do not resort to violence at political ever rally… Our leader certainly do not choose to encourage violence. Honesty, sigh… Forget about I will throw my objectivity out the window Mr.Drumpf is pathological liar, and when this man only get a 9% for true-to-mostly true (http://www.politifact.com/personalities/donald-trump/) how can anyone take him seriously. Throw all these false promises out there in the wind you wish, but with serious reality your dream will never come to light. Mr. Drumpf would one of the few if not first president to have his military leaders deny him access to execute military action based upon its nature. Further his strategy of continuously bullying people to get his way may work in congress for the first couple of months, but would quickly end, because representative all have one thing in common that like power & respect. Mr Drumpf I am rather confident would cross that line by undermining his peers in ever way with a smile & wink.

    … The United States of America is not going to defeat religious zealots, get real… If the United States was to “defeat” religious zealots that would require genocide. If you support Mr.Drumpf ideas with genocide then vote for him.

    One last thing a leader knows when keep her/his thoughts to themselves…
    http://www.marieclaire.co.uk/blogs/550112/donald-trump-quotes.html

    “Our great African-American President hasn’t exactly had a positive impact on the thugs who are so happily and openly destroying Baltimore.”

    “You know, it really doesn’t matter what the media write as long as you’ve got a young, and beautiful, piece of ass.”

    “I think the only difference between me and the other candidates is that I’m more honest and my women are more beautiful.”

    . “My fingers are long and beautiful, as, it has been well documented, are various other parts of my body.”

    “If I were running ‘The View’, I’d fire Rosie O’Donnell. I mean, I’d look at her right in that fat, ugly face of hers, I’d say ‘Rosie, you’re fired.’”

    “If you see somebody getting ready to throw a tomato, knock the crap out of them,” Trump said. “Just knock the hell — I promise you, I’ll pay the legal fees.” (http://www.businessinsider.com/donald-trump-legal-fees-punch-protester-2016-3)

  8. zschilling says:

    Well constructed post! Your absolutley right when you say that Trump doesent have to rely on special interest groups or donors to fund his campain. However, he does accept donations from various companies and organizations. He just doesent RELY on them becaues of his own financial backing. He is surely a wild card when it comes to the political spectrum. Real estate mogul billionaire enters the presidential race and choas enuses. He speaks on sensitive issues, (and as you said) in a very obnoxious way. In disregards of those who he may offend. He has more votes than any other candidate in the politcal sphere. Even with more candiadates to share the votes with in the GOP than the Deomcratic Nomination; Trump still comes out on top. And interestingly enough the establishment does not back the GOP front runner, rather opposes and tries to scheme against him. His aggressiveness, and unorthodox way of campaigning has either gained alot of supporters or oppositon. As i am undecided (even at the last minute), i do sway towards trump.

  9. mike65965 says:

    My only real hope if Trump does become the president is that as a business man he will know how to follow the advice of the real experts in a fields he is talking about. I will say that hope brings me more comfort than if say cruz wins. we all know what Cruz wants to do and it all scares me. Trump is a strange personality because his business decisions suggest that he has no problem hiring and promoting immigrants from many countries. Women hold several high positions in his companies. then he speaks and offends all the demographics that he could have won over based on his credentials. I am also tired of all the people on tv who are trying to take him down. If those people let Trump’s words speak for themselves i believe he would not last. the constant misquoting to make him sound worse only opens the door for his supporters to close their minds once the conversation begins. It truly is like a bunch of kids who are yet to learn that you can’t beat a “bully” at his own game.

Leave a Reply

