When You Become a Juror

                Last week, my classmates and I participated in a mock trial.  Although it had been quite a while since I had completed such a project, this particular one proved to be fun and even better, very interesting.  As assignments were being handed out regarding the roles each of us were to play, I asked to be a juror.  Once I received the “ok” to act in such a capacity, I decided I would play this role to the hilt.  The reasoning behind my focused participation has everything to do with previous class readings regarding the job of a juror.  Nevertheless, I initially had very little to actually do in preparation, but once the trial started, I had to remain focused and impartial.  Over a period of two days, the court entertained opening and closing statements, witnesses, and arguments.  Then, we jurors were off to perform our explicit duty of determining innocence or guilt.

                While I am positive each of us listened carefully to everything that both the prosecution and defense put forth, I listened and concentrated extremely hard.  I wanted to be sure that while I heard each and every argument for guilt or innocence, I did my duty and did it well.  I wanted to be satisfied that no matter what the outcome, I was fair to both sides.  However, during deliberation, I noticed quite a few very interesting facts.   For instance, the law is not always as clear and understandable as we citizens perceive it to be.  We might think someone is guilty of a certain crime because on the surface of the prosecution’s case, it may very well look that way.  But sometimes circumstances play a huge role in the outcome.   In other words what may appear to be an open and shut case to one juror may not be as simple to another.

                Another item I noticed has to do with our desire to punish.  The need to reprimand someone for breaking a rule or law lies in our ability to control.  Nevertheless, the law may not be written to satisfy such a need.  An example of this would be texting and driving.  In some areas of throughout the United States, it is illegal to do so, while in some areas it has yet to be addressed.  Several months ago, legislators in one state are considering drafting a law which makes it an offense to text an individual who sends a text to another person if the other person is driving and has an accident.  Personally, I see the United States Supreme Court knocking such a law down, but who can say these days.  The protection of Freedom of Speech is not exactly what it used to be.

                Although our exercise was only done as a mock representative, I thoroughly enjoyed it.  I am very happy to have participated and I believe everyone did an outstanding job.  I also know I had a wonderful time convincing others of how important it was to truly examine the evidence and what components of the case were actually proven by the prosecutor against the defense.  And while I believe in my gut that I made a good, strong decision based on the evidence presented, I cannot help but think of others who are often “railroaded” by the justice system simply because a  juror did not do their job or were to unconcerned to care.  Such disregard is sad and disrespectful to not only you and me, but to all that we represent.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When You Become a Juror

  1. anapuri11 says:

    It’s very admirable that you took your role as a juror so seriously when the trial went on. Even though it was simply a Mock Trial, you acted as a juror should, and with much more respect to the position than many do during real trials. When I was asked to come in for jury duty I went in dressed up, and excited to do my civic duty; others present, not so much. The man sitting next to me was obviously intoxicated, talking on the phone about wanting his case to be thrown out so he can go home. So while interpretation of the law is different for each individual, it’s also important to remember that most individuals see acting as a juror as less of a civic duty and more of another burden brought to them by the government.

  2. dlopezra says:

    Participating in this Mock Trial, has allowed me the opportunity to experience my fondest desires as an aspiring future attorney. The ability to represent an individual intellectually with all your might, demonstrates the force to re-humanize their acts. The point you made about the “need to reprimand someone for breaking a rule” is an extremely powerful decision put onto the hands of the jurors. With this in mind, it is the attorneys who have a grand task to present the evidence in the most just reasonable form. The attorney’s power is limitless when it comes to building a strong case. However, many factors contribute to their inability to present an articulate argument. To my understanding, the ability to absolutely convey the jurors through the process of understand the law and analyzing the evidence is a rigorous job; thus, the attorneys must represent their client as if he or she were to be on the stand.

Leave a Reply

