Voter ID vs. civil rights

On June 25, 2013, the United States Supreme court voted and passed to strike
down section 4 of the 1965 Voting Rights Act, which also nullifies section 5.
This changed whether states had to be cleared by the federal government before
making changes to voting laws. Texas and Mississippi had pending cases with the
Supreme Court regarding voter identification issues. After the ruling,
representatives from Texas and Mississippi declared their approval of the ruling
by saying that they were treated “unequally” until now. Opponents of the rulings
claim that this is a way to discriminate against minorities and the poor. Key
issues between the two sides involve whether certain states should require their
citizens to show state identification cards and whether they should also be
allowed to gerrymander certain districts. Problems arising with this ruling have
effected many out of state college students. Out of state students of would
effectively be nullified from voting in the state they attend school. They would
be required to show state ID card (which would require them to be residence of
the state), previously they were allowed to use the college’s ID card. Also, in
states such as North Carolina, both poor areas and college towns have
experienced combining and gerrymandering of districts. So three or four
districts have now been combined into one. Combining these districts may make
almost impossible for that many people to vote at a single polling place, due to
the fact that the lines may just be too long. Also benefits to certain voters
such as Sunday and/or early voting have been eliminated. These laws seem to
discourage voters, especially voters from the younger and poorer
demographics.

In my opinion this is a great miscarriage of justice. Chief
Justice John G. Roberts proclaimed that “Our country has changed” and “we cannot
live in the past”. These statements to me have no relevance because this to me
has to do about more from learning from the past inorder to achieve justice. States are now gerrymandering districts and restricting certain citizens from voting. This is an injustice that is not affecting the wealthy such as John Roberts but poorer, college
students such as myself. In the next upcoming election because I am a citizen of
California, I will no longer have the option of lending my voice to Arizona.
Certain citizens may no longer be able to lend their voice, due to the fact that
their districts may have become so big, it may become impossible for them to
even set foot inside of their polling place. So what does the past have to do
with the current predicament that has become of this ruling? Blatant
discrimination is no longer going to be tolerated when it comes to voting, the
government and laws in general, but it has been replaced with these sneaky, back
door laws such as this ruling just passed by the Supreme Court. Many marched and
died so future voters would not face restriction or discrimination, but I guess
“that’s just in the past” too.

http://politicalticker.blogs.cnn.com/2013/06/25/after-supreme-court-ruling-states-see-green-light-for-voter-id-laws/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Voter ID vs. civil rights

  1. jamietraxler says:

    I’m an out of state student and don’t feel I have the need or right to vote in Arizona. Yes their policies may affect me and I still have to abide by their laws, but I don’t consider myself a constituent of importance to an Arizona congressman. Maybe it’s just me and I don’t care as much as I should, but I don’t feel I need to have a voice here because I will go back home and be able to vote in California where I feel like my vote is more pertinent to my future than my four year college career.

Leave a Reply

